Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
654 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to the forums and deserve no ones time. But after checking out several forums such as defensive carry's forums and XD Talk, I decided to participate here. I don't want to hear about all steel 1911s being better, and I don't care that .45 cal is a bigger bullet. I shoot 9mm the best and accurately.

Being a college student I don't make money (obviously) and I am looking to purchase two firearms to give myself peace of mind for myself and my girlfriend both at home and abroad here in beautiful Fort Worth.

I have several things that I have in my brain.

1) I love America, I fought for America, and I have to buy American guns right?

2) I am worried to an extent about the Taurus track record. I am not able to sift through the BS effectively online and all I know are old timers that think a 6 pound (exagerration) 1911 is the best carry choice, even in a speedo. I want an honest opinion from Taurus owners and whether spending $350 dollars for a brand new 809 model would be wise. Also thinking about a Hi-Point 9mm as a glovebox or motorcycle saddlebag gun that I really don't have to worry about it being stolen or anything. Thank you, and, godspeed.

- Brian

·
Registered
6,961 Posts
Welcome to the forum! You want an American Nine? Get the Ruger SR9 or SR9c. I have them both and I am going to get the SR45, too.

I have a couple of the 9mm Tauri, I love them, too!

·
Administrator
18,195 Posts
If someone in the USA made handguns LIKE my PT-111 Mil Pro, 24/7 Pro, 24/7 OSS, and PT92, I would certainly have bought one by now. But no one does.
Now that said, I do have quite a number if USA made Firearms in my Gun Vault. But most of the Handguns are of Non-USA make.

Design innovation seems to be the hallmark of foreign competitors in the current Firearms Market.
Even the USA Military and USA Police departments buy a lot of small arms from Non-USA based Firms.