Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm very interested in learning how to reload, and until recently when shooting my Judge had no idea that you could reload 410's (I'm new to guns)until a gentleman at a range asked for my shells. I didn't see 410's in the Speer book, and since i have the option, figured I'd ask you guys which is easier to learn. I know that shot gun shells are cheaper, and doesn't seem worth the effort, but if i could recreate the PDX1's that would be awesome! I'd like to be able to cast bullets/pellets as well (seems like 410 would be more fun in creativity of different loads . ) So for a novice with an option.... learn 410 or 45? Thanks!!

·
Administrator
40,384 Posts
I don't reload shotgun shells, but I do .45Colt. Like you said shotgun ammo is cheap enough, with the exception of defensive stuff. I can say reloading the .45Colt is a pretty simple straight forward process, and enjoyable too. With the cost of .45Colt, reloading it makes more sense economically to me.

Reactions: TheOldRedneck

·
Registered
143 Posts
I believe the correct answer is yes. Reload either. Or both. You will learn alot about your ammo and your gun as you go. You wont save money because you will shoot more. But the cost per round will go down and you should be able to produce a batch of quality ammo fairly easily with a little practice.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Is reloading something like a defensive round even possible? Or would i be getting myself in over my head being new?

·
Administrator
40,384 Posts
Once you learn the process, you can reload your own defensive ammo. Projectiles and powder charges will be the only difference basically.

·
Registered
143 Posts