Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been looking into 10mm and available auto pistols the question I asked myself is how close can I come to 10mm performance with .40S&W handloads? I'm aware that there might be a lot of factors against this but thought I'd ask. :-\

·
Registered
15,002 Posts
2sofflead, first off, I hope you are aware that .40 caliber & 10mm use the
same diameter projectile. If you already knew that, sorry for the repetition.
The shell casings for 10mm are somewhat longer than the casings for .40 cal.
You cannot chamber a 10mm round into a .40 caliber pistol.

Now, I have to admit that I am by no means an expert on reloading.
But, I have done lots of reloading for .40 caliber, that being my favorite
caliber. 10mm uses a bit more powder than .40S&W. So, if you're trying
to approach 10mm performance with .40cal., you might be treading on very
dangerous ground.

I know this is not quite an accurate comparison; but I have always considered
10mm sort of like a .40cal. magnum. Again, this may not be an accurate
analogy. But 10mm has quite a bit more power than .40cal. I would stay with
safe loads for .40caliber.

If your budget can handle it, just go out and buy yourself a decent 10mm
pistol, & be done with it.

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
The 10mm was developed long before he 40cal was even thought of. The 40cal was originally called a 10mm kurtz (meaning 10mm short). And later renamed the 40cal. S&W after the company that made the first pistols chambered for it.

The 40cal in its basic load is only a tad stronger then a 9mm in its basic load (no matter what BS you read). An accurate comparison of the 40cal and 10mm would be the 22cal and 22 short... I have never considered loading a 40cal to 10mm pressure and without looking at the data, I am not sure I would want to or even why? Basically if the 40cal won't do what you want or need buy a real 10mm or go for a wheelgun in anything above 357mag.