Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is anyone familar with this brand or has used this ammo. I just picked up 5 boxes of 50 rounds off of the internet to be delivered next week. Paid $10.95 per box. Wasn't able to find too much information on it as far as reviews went so I am taking a chance. I did learn that the LRN stands for lead round nose. Which is a good round for practice shooting, however leaves a non perfect round hole on a paper target. I seldom use paper targets however. I had also read that due to not leaving a nice round perfect hole in a paper target is would make for a decent PP round due to the ripping effect it may deliver on contact with a human body.

Anyway, please feel free to educate me.

·
Premium Member
13,285 Posts
I have no experience with that brand, but I like that load. I also like a 200 grain LRN.

·
Registered
7,681 Posts
The 158 grain, lead round nose bullet was the standard in 38 spl. for many years or at least until the jacketed soft point and jacketed hollow point bullets were accepted by the law enforcement community but by then many were going to semiautos or other firearms that have more stopping power or held more rounds. Now it's seems the 40 S&W and the 45 ACP have gained favor with the law enforcement communities.

The 38 spl., 158 grain LRN bullet is still used but not because there is anything special about it. It doesnt cut the nice clean hole like a wadcutter or semi wadcutter bullet does on a paper target on a cardboard backer but rather tears the paper or cardboard. I think most round nosed bullet either lead or FMJ ones have the ability or over penetrate or ricochet thus have fallen out of favor except for target shooting or military use.

·
Registered
32,029 Posts