Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently own a PT840 which was my first handgun purchase. Considering I am new to both Taurus and handguns in general, I figured I would ask for your humble opinions.

On a side note, I have my eye on a Springfield XDM9 for concealed and/or vehicle carry, but do not have the cash to pony up for a new firearm purchase at the moment.

I got my 840 in factory refurbished condition for $450 at a local gun show, and got about 250 rounds through it before I started having problems. The problem was with extraction of empty shells and a slide that liked to stick on the hammer when in the forward motion. I sent it to Taurus to the tune of 50 bucks shipping, and they found a broken recoil spring and damaged(not sure if bent or broken) trigger bar. They replaced said parts and I received my firearm within 3 weeks of sending it out. Great customer service (with the exception of not giving me a heads up that my firearm was on its way back to my house).

Overall, I am happy with the weapon, it feels great and seems to serve its purpose well. Home defence. My only quibble with it is the position of the mag release. I seem to accidentally hit it while firing and it will eject the mag before it even feeds the next round, which to me, is a big problem in the context of home defence for obvious reasons.

Now, to the point. Today I stopped by a local pawn shop that recently acquired its FFL, and saw a 24/7 chambered in .40. I figured I would take a peek to see how it felt. In all honesty, I like it much better than the 840 from the initial feel I could gather inside the shop, but I'm not 100% sold on it. He had a price tag of $550 on it and it is new.

I would just like to ask you Taurus experts, what are the major differences between the series, how reasonable is that price tag, and what should I expect to get on a trade in for the 840?

Sent from my Bosch ECU via VAG COM

·
Registered