Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been raised on 1911s. Over the years I've read how DA is safer than SA concerning liability issues from lawsuits. So I caved in and sold my high end 1911 for a 24/7 Pro .45 cal. I liked the feel of the frame, the SA/DA feature, and mag capacity amoung other things. This will be a carry pistol. Wouldn't you know, right from the box the gun wouldn't fire. Nine weeks later with a new barrel, the gun works great. It accepts every type of ammo I feed it. I love it.
However, I do have some concerns. As I stated, this will be a carry pistol. I know my 1911 would have withstood the test of time. I fired thousands and thousands of rounds through it without issues. I'm new to polymer frames and striker fired pistols. Are there stress areas I need to watch for with polymer? Is there a spring that activates the striker? If so, will the spring wear out if I leave the gun in a ready to fire mode? The manual says not to dry fire the gun, just how bad is it? Your comments will be appreciated. Thank You.

·
Registered
123 Posts
you should be fine with dry fire if you use a snap cap. not a thing in the world i can think of that would cause a problem if you use a cap.

not sure on the other questions. I'd be interested to know myself on those stress points. I can tell you though that if you DO have problems with the gun Taurus will fix it.

·
Registered
174 Posts
that has been my primary ccw gun for quite a while now, i switched from a 1911 as well, have had no issue's at all, i now have 5 taurus pistols, 4 of which serve full time as ccw for myself and wife, never had an issue w/ any of them.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·