Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a .40 24/7 OSS - at the range, it's very accurate and it eats cheap ammo with ease. I *really* wanted to shoot it in action pistol...but the trigger feels so mushy and the pull is so long that, when I tried it today in an action pistol practice, I really struggled. (I've used a Rock Island 1911, Glock 34, and EAA Witness Steel...so that's what I've got to compare it to.)

Is there a way to make the trigger pull shorter or make it feel more crisp? Or is this something that I'll easily get used to?

(I'm a novice, so nobody that reads this post should take this as though there is necessarily a problem with the 24/7.)

·
Registered
29,717 Posts
Are you shooting it with the first shot in Double action? (racking the slide then using the decocker before fireing) If so I can see that. I like the DA pull from a first shot in a self defense situation, but I can see how it would be a pain in competition.

My recomendation would be fire a few hundered more rounds and see what you think. Just my 2 cents. Maybe the others here will disagree.

·
Member Emeritus 1946-2018
35,996 Posts
Welcome to TaurusArmed.net!

I think you'll get used to the trigger on the OSS in due time.

·
Administrator
17,596 Posts
How many rounds have you run thru it? Do give the Trigger some time to wear in before you go messing with it! Both of my 24/7's took about 200 rounds or less, before they wore into their crisp nature. You'll wear into the Gun as well! In general, it will be about 500 rounds of live fire before break-in is complete and that is generally true of most handguns.

I also have four Tanfoglio Witnesses and kind of know where you are coming from Trigger Wise. 24/7's are a different breed and will take a bit of getting used to, but it will be worth the journey!