Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to loading 230 grain for my PT1911 the only way I can get my loads to cycle is to seat the bullet is to seat it to OAL of 1.190 that will cycle and shoot 1.196 will not the bullet is a Lee TC 230 grain. The top of the case is right on the edge of where the taper starts
The book calls for 1.200

·
Registered
36,928 Posts
not familiar with that projectile as I do not cast but if it takes a shorter or longer OAL to operate correctly then that's where it needs to be.
IF you are not loading at top pressure levels then you should be fine.
IF you really think about it and take a look at the varied factory ammo out there the OAL is all over the place as long as its not to LONG for the magazine.
so many thing make the OAL different, like HP or not, material that the projectile is made of, try loading all copper or frangible sometime.
weight of projectile of course, design of the projectile, powder type. etc-etc-etc.

·
Registered
276 Posts
In the situation you describe, it is probably not the OAL that is a problem, but the bullet profile, which is preventing the pistol from locking up. I have exactly the same problem when loading the Extreme 225 gr SWC bullet in a Springfield. The gun runs perfectly at 1.190. Anything longer and it will not go into battery. Same story with the P-90 Ruger using the same bullet. My S&W 645 feeds most any length. Try running a couple of magazines through your gun manually. That way, you can see what length will actually work the best. As olfahors pointed out, load it where it needs to be.

·
Registered
2,699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·