Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
From what I can gather, Taurus makes 3 different models of .22lr revolver. The 94 series seems to have a horrible trigger? So I'm wondering what y'all think. I have a Ruger SR22 pistol that she loves to shoot, but it's technically not hers and she still has a little trouble racking the slide. I wouldn't want to be on the business end of it though. I swear she's a natural marksman!

I've also seen some colt 1873 replicas out there(Chiappa and Heritage) for around $200. They seem to get really great reviews. Anyone familiar with either?

Also, concerning a SA only revolver, I'm understanding that to mean that with each round you have to cock the hammer? I'm a relative newbie myself and only have semi autos.

·
Premium Member
17,735 Posts
SA also you have to punch each empty out one at a time, the cylinder does not swing out like a DA to eject all empties with one stroke.

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
SA, you have to cock the hammer before every shot.

DA, you do not. You can cock the hammer on a DA revolver for a single action trigger pull though.

thanks, that's what I thought.

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
SA also you have to punch each empty out one at a time, the cylinder does not swing out like a DA to eject all empties with one stroke.

Good to know. thanks!

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·

I've been researching those for about a month now. Of course my local Academy doesn't have any in stock and can't tell me when they will. She really likes the cowboy gun look, and the people who've bought them seem to like them.

·
Registered
5,485 Posts
The way to remember the difference:

SA the trigger performs one function - drops the hammer or the striker. Something else - thumb, recoils, gas etc. prepares the gun for the next firning.

DA the trigger performs both the cocking and the firing actions.