does a 455 shoots 45 super ?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: does a 455 shoots 45 super ?

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

does a 455 shoots 45 super ?

Hey guys I'm new to revolvers, I decide to own Taurus 455 SS2 as my first revolver. I enjoy shooting a 45 ACP with my small revolver. But I need some knowledge from experts.

Can this revolver stand a 45 ACP P+ , 45 Super and 45 Magnum?

They all have the same diameter and the longer one fits the extra gap in the chamber but I don't want my revolver to explode by high pressure !
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Member #
    Liked
    5039 times
    45 acp maximum pressure is 21,000 psi
    45 acp +p maximum pressure is 23,000 psi
    45 super maximum pressure is 28,000 psi and .377 inches longer than the 45 acp.
    45 magnum maximum pressure is 40,000 psi and .677 inches longer than the 45 acp.

Source is Wikipedia

Member #
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks for the information Jeeper1.
    But how do I know if my revolver will stand 28000 or 40000 PSI ?

4. Remove Advertisements
    TaurusArmed.net
    Advertisements

Member #
    Liked
    454 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Alansary85 View Post
    Thanks for the information Jeeper1.
    But how do I know if my revolver will stand 28000 or 40000 PSI ?
    Generally it would say so on the barrel, or in the owner's manual.

I would think you're safe with .45 ACP +P, since Taurus says in their owner's manual that all their .45 ACP guns can handle .45 ACP +P. But I would certainly not expect it to be able to handle the higher pressures of .45 Super or .45 Win Mag unless it said so in the manual or had those cartridge names engraved on the barrel.
    treg, jwc007 and skimp like this.

Member #
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks for the help. Maybe it can handle the .45 super since there is not much difference between the p+ and the super.

Member #
    Liked
    814 times