Magazine fix for 1911...maybe!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Magazine fix for 1911...maybe!

Member #
    Liked
    5960 times

Magazine fix for 1911...maybe!

I decided to see if I could figure out once and for all why my original 1911 Taurus magazines couldn’t be loaded to capacity. Well one would, but the other one wouldn’t, which was even more puzzling. So with new ones on the way from WC, I decided to pull them apart last night and do some serious forensics on them to determine the cause.

I’m a mechanical designer by trade, so I kept telling myself there HAS to be some fundamental difference in the two. I started by disassembling both and examining first the springs. There was nothing odd about them and they appeared to be identical in length. So next I compared the shape and dimensions of the followers and there was where I found what I believed to be the problem.

The follower from the bad magazine fit more loosely “front to back” than the other follower, so I came to the conclusion that the “legs” of the follower were somehow interfering with the spring, or binding against the sides of the magazine on those last one or two rounds. Actually, I could load the eighth round, but it wouldn’t engage the magazine catch if the slide was closed.

Solution: I very gently bent the forward leg of the follower ever so slightly toward the front, closing the tolerance and adjusting the fit of the follower within the magazine. I used the good one as a model and stopped when the fit seemed right and the geometry of the two pieces looked identical. Once I got a nice smooth fit, I reassembled it, loaded all eight rounds in the magazine and rammed it home on the first try. I couldn’t believe the difference and now I have two perfectly functioning magazines from Taurus with the other two on the way. I might do a little micro-polishing on the followers as well, just to get rid of the rough edges.