REVIEW: Alien Gear Original Cloak Tuck IWB Holster
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By brotherbrian

Thread: REVIEW: Alien Gear Original Cloak Tuck IWB Holster

Member #
    Liked
    2598 times

REVIEW: Alien Gear Original Cloak Tuck IWB Holster

Okay, I'm still waiting for my Cloak Tuck 2.0 IWB and my OWB Alien Gear Slide Holster, so I thought I'd do a write-up review on the one I have been wearing for a couple months now.

First of all, Let me say that this is my first hybrid style IWB holster. It is not really a Kydex shell, apparently, but is a type of molded plastic. It definitely seems durable. Getting a proper retention fit is a bit of an endeavor, but is worth the trouble. The leather backing seems to be a decent quality leather, although I would have gone maybe a little thicker to prevent the leather from bending as much at the sweat shield. But this is more of a "big guy" issue, and not a "construction" issue. I was surprised to find that the screw backs actually barely contact my skin, if at all. I was thinking that the metal on skin would at least be annoying, and may lead to rust, but have had neither issue so far. And I can work up a sweat, let me tell you.

I might recommend that they cut the backing to include more of the grip of the pistol, because I did find that the pistol grip tends to rub my side when I'm sitting or moving around.