Melting Point Law Question
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree45Likes

Thread: Melting Point Law Question

Member #
    Liked
    95 times

Melting Point Law Question

I am still learning about guns and today I stumbled across the Melting Point Law. I did a little research and have a couple questions. If someone can answer them, I'd appreciate it.

1) I understand the law was intended to stop the selling of "Saturday Night Specials" as mentioned in the NFA Act of 1968. Is it correct to assume that the barrel and cylinder will not have the same melting point as the frame or can the barrel and cylinder also be lower melt point metals?

2) How do polymer frame pistols get around this law?
    By the time you hear the gunshot, it's already too late...
    Circuit Judge (2), 738 TCP, Rossi .38 Special, Taurus TX22

Member #
    Liked
    6284 times
    >I think< it is because the refined definition of what the actual 'gun' is. The polymer frame is not 'the gun.' >I think< that the barrel and slide are not defined as 'the gun.' Only the trigger mechanism and firing mechanism (pin, hammer, etc..) are considered 'the gun.' Which is why you can take a Sig P320 mechanism and put it into a different frame with a different barrel and slide (thereby changing the caliber) yet still have the same 'gun' i.e. modularity. Again, this is my very rudimentary understanding. Perhaps someone with more in-depth knowledge will chime in.
    ArmedDefender likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    2435 times
    Typically, the only firearms made of alloys with a low melting point like ZAMAK are only used for firearms chambered in low pressure or otherwise soft recoiling cartridges such as .22LR, and only for components like the frame, slide, or receiver. Barrels and Cylinders are always made of steel, because there's no way that either could withstand the heat/pressure if they were made of Zinc/Aluminum alloys. Not even the infamous Saturday Night Specials of old had alloy barrels.