Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Looking for work. Need help with resume information

BANNED
    Member #
    Liked
    1499 times

Looking for work. Need help with resume information

Since I found out that I can't get a transfer, yet my move to AZ in 3 weeks is written in stone, I face the reality of being unemployed, as does my wife.

We have been submitting numerous job applications on-line. I don't have a resume, I choose to enter the questions manually. However now I have some thoughts that raise serious questions.

I have been employed in a non-skilled job for the last 14 years. Job before that was driving a gasoline tanker (2 or 3 years).

Most employers only want to know recent history, that is why I only list those 2 jobs.

If I create a resume, I can list some past employment that shows different skills. Mostly driving jobs, and that isn't the field I'm looking for right now.

If I go way back, I can list the fact that I was a Police Officer with the NYPD. That might help getting a security type job, and/or show some diversity in what I have done in the past.

Here are my thoughts: #1, Employers may think "who cares what he did that many years ago? He probably forgot all that stuff by now."
    #2, If I list those jobs, they will see the dates of employment, and know that I've been on this planet for quite a few years (too old?)

When I moved to FL, I was about 45, and I just quit my job and moved. I knew we would find jobs quickly, and we did. Now I'm approaching 62 (my wife is a few years older), and I don't feel so condent anymore. As a matter of fact, I am downright scared to death. We need jobs, but let's face it, age discrimination is a reality.

Should we do the resume thing, or not?

Member #
    Liked
    1153 times