• 1 Post By BillPubDef
  • 1 Post By
  • 1 Post By GreenWolf70

Thread: Some .410 loads binding / not easy fit to cylinder

Member #
    Liked
    9 times

Some .410 loads binding / not easy fit to cylinder

Hello all, I am a newbie here, just joined. I purchased a Pubic Defender Poly and took it out for it first run yesterday. While I had no issues whatsoever with the 45 Colts, some of the 410 shells do not easily drop into the cylinder. The way I discovered this to be a problem is that one did not want to come out after being fired. Then I noticed that some drop right in and some stop about the time they get to the metal part of the shell. Yes, all are 2 1/2 inch. Here is what I saw:

1. Winchester 410 no 7.5 shot drop right in no issue (smooth plastic shell)
    2. Remington 410 no 6 shot - no fit (ribbed plastic shell - assume that is the issue) - issue #1
    3. Federal Premium 410 Handgun OOO Buck - (just slightly ribbed shell) - Odd - about 60% drop right in no issue, the other 40% stop with half of the metal end still sticking out (about a quarter inch of the shell sticking out). So,,, I can push it in, but afraid it will be a pain to get out of the cylinder again) - Issue #2

So..I am looking for any input here, known problem, not, ?????
    I found one old string in a search but it was from 2015 and really did not say much.

I would appreciate any insights!!

Thanks... oh by the way.... I love this gun!!!

Bill
    silverstring likes this.

Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    11192 times