Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree21Likes

Thread: Combat Vet But Shotgun Newb Questions

Member #
    Liked
    17 times

Combat Vet But Shotgun Newb Questions

Evening Gents.

Ammo shortages being what they are, I recently purchased a lot of Winchester Super X 12 gauge 1oz rifled slugs in 2.75" shells for our home defense Mossberg 500.

Admittedly, I don't know much about shotguns.

As a former Army PSD Team leader, the most mileage I ever got out of the team's Remington 870 was to remind Iraqi Locals of the importance of maintaining a 100m following distance on convoys and removing the hinges from doors my breachers didn't kick in on the first try.

My question is: If the barrel of the Mossy is smooth and I keep the Modified Choke in it, will I be ok stacking No. 8 shot and the aforementioned rifled slugs?

Sorry if that seems like a dumb question to you fowl hounds.

I'm still new to the sporting firearms world.

Thanks.

Administrator

Member #
    Liked
    33517 times
    What kind of home environment are you in? Slugs penetrate like crazy, a big 1 oz piece of lead going between 1500 and 1800 fps. You have the opposite problem with the #8 birdshot. Having a choice, I think I'd use the #8 and let them get close. The alternative would be using the slugs and choosing your fields of fire very, very carefully.

When ammo starts coming back, you might want to get some BB sized shot or #4 shot, minimum. 00 buck is of course the gold standard, but penetration with this can be brutal too so be careful and plan things out before you find yourself in a self defense situation.
    777Driver and olfarhors like this.
    “Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote" - Benjamin Franklin