• 4 Post By NotSo
  • 3 Post By jspdrcrmach5
  • 6 Post By GhostHorse

Thread: Queston re: revolver lock up today

Member #
    Liked
    515 times

Queston re: revolver lock up today

I took a new-to-me S&W 27-2 (in virtually like new condition) to the range and had a lock up.

Couldn't move the hammer or trigger. Did a little light pushing and pulling for about 20 seconds and it got back to normal.

I'm no expert, and I've mostly shot pistols over the last few years, but I wonder if a lock up can be user-induced by going a little forward and back movement with the trigger during the pulling or releasing of the trigger...which I think occurred.

After the lock up, I made sure there were no variations in when pulling the trigger. I've shot about 150 rounds through it, and this has been the only issue.

TIA!

Member #
    Liked
    515 times
    Snooping around the net, I found this comment (from a user on a forum - I added the bolds):

"One thing that I have found that causes cylinder lock up is back traveling a double action trigger pull. Once you begin a double action trigger pull you can stop, and freeze at any point along the cycle, continue to increase pull and stop again and again but never go backwards or let the the trigger back travel once you have started a pull. You must complete the cycle or you can and will experience a frozen or misaligned lockwork of the revolver. I have learned this the hard way particulerly with S&W revolvers."

And mine is a S&W
    777Driver likes this.

Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    2802 times