Lyman 358 WC
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By kmw1954

Thread: Lyman 358 WC

Member #
    Liked
    4005 times

Lyman 358 WC

Picked up a used Lyman 358495 141gr WC mold and cast my first batch. The alloy I'm using is a base of indoor range scrap with 10% print type added. The range scrap is pretty soft with a hardness of about 10 the added type alloy increases it to almost 12.

I haven't weighed any yet but with my caliper they are measuring small @ .355" dia. instead of the .358". Not sure how these are going to work at this diameter.
    texastaurusguy likes this.
    I am a Veteran, I am a Husband, Father, Grandfather, Great Grandfather.
    I was labeled a Deplorable, As a USA Veteran I will proudly wear that to protect our Nation!
    When they can figure out how to legislate Morality and Conscience I will consider talking more gun laws.

Member #
    Liked
    1217 times
    Definitely a little small, I prefer .359 for 38/357. The harder the alloy the smaller they can be. If it's a hollow base WC then you shouldn't have a problem. I've shot a lot of softer cast with no problems as long as I don't try to get magnum velocities out of them.
    NRA Endowment Life Member
    Western North Dakota

Member #
    Liked
    121 times
    That's even small for 9mm

4. Remove Advertisements
    TaurusArmed.net
    Advertisements

Member #
    Liked
    4005 times
    A few at Cast Boolits suggest powder coating them. I have time as I don't shoot this gun much and only bought the mold because I got it for a very good price and it came with handles. Which I have seen handles going on ebay for almost what I paid for both. Then at some point I planned on trying coating but wasn't ready to do it just yet.
    I was labeled a Deplorable, As a USA Veteran I will proudly wear that to protect our Nation!
    When they can figure out how to legislate Morality and Conscience I will consider talking more gun laws.

Member #
    Liked
    2012 times