• 1 Post By silverstring
  • 1 Post By oldtimer
  • 1 Post By dwhite

Thread: 709 Slide

Member #
    Liked
    3 times

709 Slide

I am new to the sight, but have been a gun owner since the 60's (US Army Veteran).I have a Taurus slim 709. Bout two years old. I have only had it to the range maybe six times-the first few rounds go bang, then there is an
    ejection problem, a casing gets stuck in the barrel, and the next round hangs up against it. I have contacted Taurus, got a return order, but didn't follow through with it as it was going to cost $80.00 dollars for UPS to ship it -required overnight according to them. Anyways, got it out last week end -took about for shots at the target, and the 5th hung up. I disassembled it and while watching a you tube video on the gun, noticed a "dent" on the polished rail inside the slide.could this be causing the issue? Could I have caused this? Thanks guys.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Member #
    Liked
    20444 times
    I think I see the dent you are talking about. My first thought is that is most likely not the problem. I would first make sure the magazine spring is properly installed/oriented by taking the magazine apart. It has been seen where the mag spring was installed backwards. Plus I would even give the magazine a good cleaning inside while it's apart. Taurus has been known to use some pretty heavy packing grease. Don't oil the inside of the mag after cleaning.

Second thought would possibly be the extractor. Give it a real good look and make sure there are no tiny chips at the end and make sure it's clean under the edge where the case rim would sit.

Some smarter folks will be along to help out. Keep us posted.

Supporting Moderator

Member #
    Liked
    7763 times
    Quote Originally Posted by darbo View Post