Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times

Crack in receiver Gallery Gun

Just got a Stainless Taurus 22LR Gallery Gun. There is a crack in the receiver on the left side at the rear of the locking recess for the bolt. It is not a surface crack. Is this a common occurrence with these? Bought it for my grandsons and would like to keep it. Taurus said send it back, but if I do, they will probably keep it. Don't know what they could/would offer as replacement.
    Baptist Pastor, Lover of God and Country, Chaplain TCSO

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

Re: Crack in receiver Gallery Gun

Here are some pics of the crack. I am not good with the camera, but I think you can clearly see the crack:

Member #
    Liked
    29 times

Take it to a local gunsmith. He/she might be able to repair it for you.
    In a world of talkers, be a thinker and a doer.

Duct tape is like 'The Force'. It has a light side and a dark side, and it binds the universe together.

You know the other funny thing about duct tape? There are hundreds of uses, but it's not used for ducts. Go figure...

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

I am thinking that where this crack is located is not a big issue. It is nowhere near the chamber. Wish I could have gotten clearer pics, the crack is on the inside of the locking recess as well.

Super Moderator

Member #
    Liked
    2307 times

Quote Originally Posted by weemsf
    Taurus said send it back, but if I do, they will probably keep it.
    They may keep it if the frame is beyond repair. To repair that frame, consult someone with a broad range of Welding Experience.

Quote Originally Posted by weemsf
    Don't know what they could/would offer as replacement.
    As it is no longer imported, they just might still have them back in Brazil, but you would have to ask them. I would ask them about their specific policies before any possible shipment.
    "Easy is the path to wisdom for those not blinded by ego." - Yoda