newbie - 905 cylinder fell, spring retained
    Member #
    Liked
    0 times

newbie - 905 cylinder fell, spring retained

Hello - I am new to firearms, and received this 905 revolver from a family member. I have been to a range and had a private lesson - basic safety, etc. Shot about 50 rounds and really enjoyed it. Not the gun itself, so much, but the shooting part. I plan to get a different model, but want to learn more before spending $$.

I purchased moon clips from Revolver Supply , and they seem to fit and load well. Since I understand that to be unusual, I was well pleased with that purchase.

I was practicing loading and unloading the clips into the gun, and the cylinder just fell completely out.
    I tried to slide it back into place, but it will not go in all the way. Peering down into the hole where it should slide in, reveals a tiny spring in there.

I have been reading about similar problems, but most involve a screw that backed out. That is not the case here - there appear to be no screws missing or loose.

My husband knows even less than I do about firearms (hard to imagine, right?) but he is incredibly handy with tiny tools and mechanical projects (he rebuilds guitars) so if it is simple, we don't mind giving it a try.

There are gunsmiths close by, but I'm sure they'll see me coming and add a zero onto the price tag - kinda like the auto mechanics... and while I do value getting the gun repaired, I don't want to put a lot of money into a gun I'm not that crazy about to start with.

Coincidentally - my brother is a gunsmith, but he lives far away...worth shipping to him?

Thanks in advance for your patience and advice.

Member #
    Liked
    440 times
    If the cylinder fell out without the front side plate screw coming out or loosening, the detent either broke or was already missing. Assuming you have all of the other parts a gunsmith would be able to repair it cheaply. Another option is to send it back to Taurus.

Supporting Member

Member #