Taurus Firearm Forum banner

.44 Magnum Factory Loads - Why so light?

4K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  djones31 
#1 ·
Im new to the whole .44 Magnum thing, and i really like shooting the loads i pick up from the local range, and walmart, but why is it so hard to find anything that even approaches the higher end of .44 Magnum power? Most of the ammo i've found has had around 1200FPS/780FP. I cant really find anything much stronger than that, despite the fact that some of the hot loads online come up with up to around 1450FPS/1260FP.

Is it just that the ammount of recoil is so much more that it makes them a harder sell? Do some .44s not safely support some of these hotter loads?

#2 ·
It's just that, you have a few guns that won't support full power loads. The tracker for one is designed to handle mid range loads at best, while a raging bull could take as much as a super redhawk or a freedom arms bfr. But in this litigious society ammo manufacturers have to make their ammo as if everyone has a tracker which means if you want the most out of the redhawk or raging bull you must reload your own or go buffalo bore.

#3 ·
I guess warning labels aren't enough, huh? lol

#4 ·
FPS/ME are performance indicators for a given recipe.

What one really needs to pay attention to is Pressure, and signs of same, when determening what is 'hot'.

Most factory loads for a given bullet weight should meet SAAMI pressure's and performance guidelines.

Generally a 'heavy' bulllet will have a higher pressure and lower speed for the same recipe with a 'light' bullet. (note- Never, EVER substitue a heavier bullet for a lighter bullet in a given recipe!)

A 'hot load' is a term that usually indicates it is near max safe pressures. Some guns handle higher pressures better than others.

Also- 'hot loads' are usually not the most accurate and wear out guns much faster.