Member #
    Liked
    34 times

Small Frame Spring Replacement Observation

I realize the subject of hammer and trigger spring replacement appears all over the forum here in various places. There may even be a thread dedicated to that, but I am a newbie to the forum and actually a newbie to tearing into revolvers. I have been away from guns for a long time making a living at a job...raising a family and all the rest. I have jumped back into Taurus resolvers full-bore now that I am retired. I have probably fired more rounds in the last month than I have in the last 20-years. I have also dragged my wife along with me, because I want her to be interested in self-defense and have a weapon she can comfortably fire. We both have carry permits.

I know many of you pros and long-time subscribers know all about this, but it may help some newbies get straight to the issue without poking-around on the forum.

I have changed the hammer springs in three of my Taurus revolvers without any issue at all. I installed the Wolff 9-pound in my 327 and 85UL. They have been test fired and have performed flawlessly. I have replaced the hammer spring in my 941 with the stock 327 hammer spring, which I believe to be 11-pounds. It too has performed and fired every time I pull the trigger and is MUCH easier on the finger and the thumb.

Here comes the rub that many of you know about already. Neither the reduced 9-pound or 6.5-pound Wolff reduced trigger spring will work in any of my three revolvers "right out of the pack". These trigger springs coil-bind before the action will fully cycle. Wolff post a disclaimer very clearly explaining that modifications may be necessary. That apparent modification would be the removal of some coils from the trigger springs. And yes...I have read this mentioned on other threads...this is just a recap. They will almost work, but not quite.