• 1 Post By prgallo
  • 1 Post By pecos bill
  • 1 Post By JimSheldon

Thread: Re-Loading with Trail Boss powder

Member #
    Liked
    126 times

Re-Loading with Trail Boss powder

I'm still new to re-loading and have only used Trail Boss in .38 Special to date behind Hornady LSWCHP bullets with CCI SP primers. Started at the starting loads and have worked up. Using the .88 cc hole in the Lee Auto Powder Dispenser gets about 3.9 grains, a little short of the 4.2 grain maximum. That seemed to be the best load to date. I also loaded a batch at about 3.2 grains as a lower recoil load for my wife or possibly other friends who want to try. The gun is a Model 65, 3" barrel, .357 magnum.

I like Trail Boss for safety (can't load a double charge, easy to see that a charge was dropped) and for comfort. With the light recoil and low muzzle flash, it makes shooting the revolver a lot of fun and makes you want to shoot more. It seems I can shoot them faster than I can load them, which is a double plus. I'm getting use to the smell

Now for the question. I went to the range today and shot another 75 or so and still like the load, but am thinking of upping the load one more hole in the dispenser to try to get closer to the 4.2 grain maximum load (max for both .38 Special and .357 Magnum). I noticed that the outside of the brass showed more soot that the handful of factory loads I shot today as well. Could this be because the lower pressures of these softer loads don't expand the brass as much or as quickly as the somewhat hotter feeling factory loads?

Member #
    Liked
    291 times
    The lube from the lead bullets will cause more soot than similar loads using jacketed bullets or factory ammo.

Too old to fight and too fat to run.
    Do You feel lucky?

Member #
    Liked
    126 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jspdrcrmach5 View Post
    The lube from the lead bullets will cause more soot than similar loads using jacketed bullets or factory ammo.