Member #
    Liked
    1736 times

Traditions and CVA Muzzleloaders

A friend of mine has coerced me into thinking that I should get into muzzle-loading. I am new to that sport, so would like advice from anyone who has used a smoke pole. He also has a lower end Traditions model he would like to trade, and I am interested.

However, I have read a report or two which say that Traditions & CVA muzzle-loaders are not that great -- especially the lower priced ones. As long as it is safe, buying this particular rifle is okay with me, because if I don't like this branch of the shooting sports, I won't be out much.

Also, can anyone tell me about the T/C Black Diamond? A LGS nearby has a used stainless model selling for $150. Might get that one if I don't like my friend's rifle.

Thanks in advance for your advise!
    HE thinks, therefore I am! <><

Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    10697 times

Re: Traditions and CVA Muzzleloaders

I'm a big fan of the CVA rifles. They're a lot like Taurus, made a couple (bad) errors years ago and they're still haunted today. I've shot the Wolf, Optima, and most recently the Accura. All three were stellar performers. The new QuickRelease breech plug is absolutely kickass as far as I can see.

I was also looking at a Traditions ($160 new out the door...wow) at Shiel's a few weeks ago, very nice looking and apparently they've been in the BP market for just about forever. I've heard nothing but good about them. Haven't shot one yet so I can't vouch for it, but, I know it felt darn good in the hands and up to the shoulder...sights came right up for me.

I know nothing of the T/Cs, so I can't offer any insight there.