Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: .410Buckshot Effectiveness

Member #
    Liked
    5 times

.410Buckshot Effectiveness

Disclaimer: I am a complete gun newbie

First I'll say that personally I think if I got shot with .410 buckshot in close quarters i'd be down. Not sure what some other people are thinking....There are 410 Home Defense (Mossberg HS 410) shotguns
    A good amount of people don't think it is good for personal defense I think mainly because muzzle velocity (i think they mostly say 800-900fps... Remindton HD on box says 1300fps), pellet weight, and penetration (15-16")?
    But it seems like EVERY magazine article I have read and EVERYONE I have talked to say it WILL put someone down especially at close ranges (25-35ft about in my apartment) I don't think I've seen that in a magazine ever I think only some forums on google searches...they never mention penetration i dont get it

Remington 00 HD Ultimate Home Defense advertises 1300fps at the muzzle (not 800-900fps)

I think 000 pellet weight is usually around 70-80 grains? Not sure how much the Winchester PDX1s weigh (copper plated disks). Feels like enough weight to me i mean penetration is penetration right?

Federal Premium 000 410 Handgun has I believe 15-16" penetration (i'd have to double check what the source was) (oh and Winchester PDX1 has 9-10" penetration I think and off topic I talked to someone at Winchester that said it would be safe to use in my apartment if I am shooting through 3-4 walls or possibly even 2 front doors? do you think so?)

Ok so they think the pellet weight might be too low......but some rounds penetrate 15-16"???? I dont get it!?? I mean at least 4 big wound tracks, 16" PENETRATION..........Huh!??!?? Every magazine is wrong??? i seriously doubt it..........
    Taurus Judge CT

Kahr CM9

Smith&Wesson 360 Talo .357

Ruger Mark III 22/45 5"

Member #
    Liked
    5 times

Re: .410 000 Buckshot Effectiveness