Taurus Firearm Forum banner

Why I Think "Licensed to Carry" Badges Are Stupid

3K views 42 replies 28 participants last post by  Lmstncwby 
#1 ·
This may have already been posted in another thread--if so, someone point me and I'll gladly go there to rant.

Churchgoer killed in fight over seat at Sunday service - NY Daily News

But this is why I think those mail-order "Licensed to Carry" Badges are some of the most stupid wastes of money in the world. I can't think of any real circumstance in which flashing a fake badge is going to do anyone any good.

I can't image a police officer being favorably impressed in the slightest--unless you're actually saying, "I'm a cop" when you flash it, it's not going to buy you anything from another cop for a split second (and if you did say "I'm a cop" it might get you a thump on the head when the real cop gets a look at the badge).

And as this situation shows, flashing it to civilians means nothing, either.

All it seems to do is make some idiots think they have some kind of authority with a gun that they don't have. Jeez. I halfway think there should be an automatic system that raises a red flag whenever someone buys one of those fake badges. It ought to count as an arrest.

See less See more
#8 ·
I suspect he'd done it other places besides that church, or the ushers would probably have been on him as well. Yeah, in that circumstance with someone behaving irrationally but without weapons--and was, in fact, calming down certainly leave it to the ushers.

Reactions: mjadams61
#5 · (Edited)
Everytime someone mentions those things, this is what goes through my head: :D :D :D

#7 ·
#6 ·