Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By olfarhors

Thread: Shooting low right?

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Shooting low right?

Im new to handguns. I bought myself a taurus 709 took it to the range for the first time today. My front sight was turned to the left a little dont know if anybody elses is like that so I unscrewed the sight and made it straight. Starting shooting and kept shooting low right and made some chances to the sight and got off a couple arounds before my front sight came off. Does anyody know why it would be shooting low right? and what would be a good sight to replace it with?

Member #
    Liked
    10 times
    Definitely not supposed to do that. You'll probably need a new front sight from Taurus.

Member #
    Liked
    19643 times
    Have a couple of experienced shooters shoot it from a bench rest.

If it shoots low and right for them, then consider sight adjustments.

Since you'r new to the sport, it's more likely that you're missing the basic of squeezing the trigger straight to the rear while maintaining proper sight alignment and sight picture.

Too much finger on the trigger will cause one to "pull" their shots low and right, as will "jerking" the trigger verses proper trigger squeeze.
    NULLI SECUNDUS

Member #
    Liked
    0 times
    THanks for the info and the pictures. I found on you tube last where a guy used a tru glo shotgun sight for his front sight would this be a good idea or not?

Member #
    Liked
    5957 times
    Quote Originally Posted by fireman7c View Post