Taurus Firearm Forum banner

Scared of the Decocker...

4K views 20 replies 18 participants last post by  jwc007 
#1 ·
No, not talking about Lorena Bobbit...

Is anyone else nervous whenever they use their decocker with a round in the chamber? Even though it's designed specifically to keep this from happening, I always feel like the gun is going to fire whenever I use it. That's one scary little "click" to listen for. I always make sure to point the gun somewhere safe, even at home, just in case.

Maybe it's just me though. I'm still relatively new to the 24/7 and to concealed carry in general.

#2 ·
I am as apprehensive as you are when decocking my pistols which are so equipped. And, like you, I always point the muzzle in a safe direction (usually at the couch cushion when I'm indoors).

#3 ·
First of all, the muzzle is always supposed to be pointed in a safe direction. So, certainly any time you are aware of where your gun is pointed, any time you are handling the gun, it should be pointed in a safe direction.
Second, I'm not afraid (cautious, yeah) of the decocker. The 24/7 uses a transfer bar. If your finger is not on the trigger - it's not firing.

#4 ·
The only thing I hate about the decocker on mine is that it's harder to decock than it is to take off the safety. However, never had a hangup dropping the hammer after I chamber the first round. But I always make sure it's pointed away from anyone before using the decocker, and my finger is nowhere nar the trigger.

#5 ·
I prefer the decocker myself. When I was a police officer we carried S&W 9mm with a decocker. That was one feature of my 24/7 that sold me on it. I am so accustom to using it that I do not have any apprehension. It is going to take a little training though because the S&W decocked by pulling down on the lever and not pushing up. I can understand the feeling though, many of us felt the same way when we transitioned to the 9mm from the .357 revolver.

#7 ·
No worry at all!