Taurus Firearm Forum banner

Which is the correct sighting picture to use with the 3 dot sights?

29K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  dpicts 
#1 ·
I need a bit of coaching as to what sight picture to use with my 24/7. I'm new to the 3 dot sights and since all my shots seem to be going low, I know I'm doing something wrong...
Which of the three is correct?

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
well the manual will say one thing, another manual will say another, and then people will say another.
all of my Taurus shoot the center selection, point of aim = point of impact, this incldes the one with the hienie sights(two dot).
Now so does my colt 1911, my stoeger couger and practically all my weapons with three dot sights, although several of the manuals said a 6 O'clock hold (which is picture #1).
I always start off using what the manual says and then sight what works best.
the best way to sight of course is off a bench and bags to remove as much shooter error as possible, then move to freehand and test it out.
Sorry there really is no easy answer other than you, fire your gun, and see what works best for you.
Remember that these are defensive /combat type sights and are not designed for hair splitting accuracy, they are designed to place a projectile on a human sized target at varying distances.

#3 ·
I had never even heard of sight picture #2 until I started reading the forums. I had always adjusted my sights to sight picture #3. Never used the 6 o'clock hold.
With sights that are not adjustable for elevation, it really is a matter of what the distance is to the target. Since non elevation adjustable sights can only be on at two distances with any one hold it is just a matter of trying each gun to see where it hits with each sight picture.

I usually shoot from a rest to see where the sights/POA intersect and then adjust how deep in the rear notch I put the front sight for other distances.