Taurus Firearm Forum banner

Trying to understand the G2

2K views 29 replies 9 participants last post by  RonJ 
#1 ·
Just trying to learn cuz the gun has caught my eye. Bear with me, I'm an old tech person. ;D

Do I have this right?

load gun, rack slide to chamber round, it's DA for the first pull. Cannot be decocked because it not cocked to begin with?

the subsequent pulls are SA unless a misfire, then it reverts back to DA for the restike capability

the gun has a safety and a decocker

OK, if this is all correct (do tell), then what's the logic behind the first shot being DA? :???:

#2 ·
if I understand it right, the first shot is SA, would only be DA if you decocked it, or had to use the second strike capability. But I could be way wrong. Need more wisdom. NYPD has a G2 maybe he can enlighten us

#3 ·
Here's a quote from buckeye49, hopefully he will chime in along with NYPD and others who have one:

Even after chambering a round (by racking the slide and feeding it from the magazine) the gun still must be fired (long pull) in double-action mode. However, after the first round and the gun cycles the 2nd and subjsequent shots are single action with virtually no take-up or slack. The gun cannot be decocked unless it is in the single-action mode.
Maybe it's just me, but this thing sounds like an engeneering feast!

#5 ·
I'm going to dial 911 to get NYPD! :D

I think we have at least 3 members who own one; hopefully they will clarify this stuff. :)

#6 ·
leejack said:
Here's a quote from buckeye49, hopefully he will chime in along with NYPD and others who have one:

Maybe it's just me, but this thing sounds like an engeneering feast!